The Berlin Stories is a semi-autobiographical account of Isherwood's life in Berlin before the second World War. Set in 1931, the English born author chronicles his misadventures with the city's most interesting characters. The novel is essentially divided into 2 stories - The Last of Mr. Norris and Goodbye to Berlin. The tales were combined in 1946 to become The Berlin Stories, which was the inspiration for the John Van Druten play, I Am A Camera, which then became the inspiration for the stage musical Cabaret.

The Berlin Stories
Two Novels by Christopher Isherwood
Copyright 1945
207 pages
8 1/4" x 5 3/4"

Note: we strive to find our vintage books in the best possible condition, but please take note they have been lovingly read and may show some minor signs of wear.  Each book is protected with an acetate dust jacket cover to help keep it safe. 

Search Our Shop